• NAYCOM Awarded Bronze by H.E. Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma on outstanding performance 2012

  • Minister of Youth Affairs Mohamed O. Bangura and World Bank Delegation

  • NAYCOM Bags Silver Award for Best Performance


  • Commissioner & Deputy Commissioner

  • Youth Consultation in the Constitutional Review Process


Ministry of Youth Affairs



Minister of Youth Affairs Hon. Mohamed Orman Bangura

The Ministry of Youth Affairs(MOYA) was established by His Excellency Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma with the approval of Parliament.
The Minister of Youth Affairs is the Chief Executive with the overall responsibility for the management and administration of the Ministry. 
The Permanent Secretary, Directors of Youth report to the Minister who directs the overall policy of the Ministry.
The Ministry of Youth Affairs comprises three (2) main divisions, namely: Youth, and Administration.
Youth Division:
The professional head of this division is the Director of Youth. His/her main functions are as follows:
(i)     To formulate youth development policies.
(ii)    To advise the Minister on matters relating to youth development
(iii)   To collaborate with Government Ministries, Departments, NGO’s and international organizations involved in youth activities.
(iv)   To design and implement programmes for youth development
(v) To control, deploy and monitor all staff in the division.

Administrative Division:
This division is headed by the Permanent Secretary who is also the administrative head of the Ministry.  The main functions of the Permanent Secretary are as follows:-
(i) To exercise ultimate responsibility for the management and administration of the Ministry
(ii) To be the “Vote Controller” in which capacity subject to the general direction and control of the Minister, he shall control and he accountable for the expenditure of money and for all public money received, hold or spent by or on account of the Ministry.
(iii)  To oversee and coordinate the work of the Youth.
(iv)  To serve as the principal adviser to the Hon. Minister.

The following complementary structures/units are under the Ministry of Youth Affairs.
Youth Division:

  • *National Youth Award Scheme
  • *HIV/AIDS Focal Point